When One Door Closes…Another One Opens

21 Apr

A TEST of FAITH

Too many things had gone wrong in my marriage.   Too many lonely, loveless years.  There was no joy, I had not been happy for quite some time and my (now) ex-husband had disconnected almost from the beginning , it was evident even in our wedding picture.  Every Fight was always ‘my fault’, he took no responsibility for what went wrong.  Instead, he blamed me.

At my urging, we tried counseling numerous times, unfortunately to no avail.  We were, sadly, well past the point of no return.  I stayed as long as I did for the sake of my children.  When I saw the effect it was having on them, I KNEW it was time to make the change.  This decision, I found out, would become the ultimate test of my faith!

The BATTLE

Once I summoned the courage to actually file for divorce, many of my so-called friends started dropping like flies.  It was one of the darkest periods of my life.  I have never felt so abandoned, or so vulnerable…

I tried to be civil with my then estranged husband.    I wanted to be friends because after all, we had two young children to think of.  I gave and he took, kind of a skewed version of Quid Pro Quo.  It quickly became apparent that  he had a hidden agenda and he was hell-bent on punishing me.   The Battle was ON!   Who WAS this person I once loved and had two beautiful children with?

Why did he have to do so  many dirty, ugly, mean-spirited things?  All this,  just to hurt me?  It took a toll on me physically, emotionally and spiritually.  I was  going through HELL but so were my children!  I immediately got them in counseling to help them cope and I am happy to report that they are thriving.

Winston Churchill once said, “If you’re going through hell, keep going.”  Easier said then done.  To say it was difficult, well ~ that is the understatement of the year!

Darkness

There were so many dark days…All I could feel was pain and despair.  It hurt me to my very core that the ones I thought “had my back” were the first to jump ship!  I really could have used the extra support.  But I hold no ill-will toward anyone because the message is far more valuable!   The adage ~ ‘THAT WHICH DOES NOT KILL YOU ONLY MAKES YOU STRONGER’ ~ is absolutely TRUE!

Here’s where it gets a little deep, so if you are not a believer, I may  lose you.  You see, this Battle wasn’t just about a fight for my physical freedom from my marriage, it was much more than that.  It was also BATTLE for my soul!  Yes, the dark forces were hard at work .   I will just leave it at that.

Into the Light

The upside ~ It sure doesn’t hurt to have God as your Shield and your Buckler!  Aside from my WONDERFUL Mother, my supportive Sister and of course, my precious little darlings, He strategically placed many other Angels in my life to help fight my Battle ~ together, they pulled me through.  I persevered because my faith taught me to NEVER stop believing, to have hope, to be strong and to “Be of good Courage.”  (Psalm 27 v:14)

The Road to Self Discovery

I have learned many lessons.  Like forgiveness and the POWER in letting go.  I have learned the importance of healing your past first, before  you can move forward and truly live in your future.  I understand that when one door closes, another one opens.  Today, I am closing the door to my past and for the first time in what seems like a lifetime, I am free!  I am happy and at peace.  I have accepted the consequences of my decision and have paid a high price, but maybe it has been worth it because…Today, is the first day of my new beginning and I welcome it, with arms wide open!  

Just My Two Cents♥♥

© 2011

 

10 Responses to “When One Door Closes…Another One Opens”

  1. UFC 130 Live Stream May 24, 2011 at 4:03 PM #

    Hello, I hopped over to this website from digg. It’s not something I would typically read, but I loved your perspective on it. Thank you for making an article worth reading!

  2. Chadwick Gaeta September 9, 2012 at 6:31 AM #

    I simply want to say I am just new to blogs and honestly savored this website. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You actually have wonderful articles and reviews. Many thanks for sharing with us your web-site.

  3. Marquitta Strandberg September 13, 2012 at 11:34 AM #

    magnificent post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not realize this. You should proceed your writing. I’m confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  4. read painters brisbane September 13, 2012 at 4:42 PM #

    rather useful material, all round I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks

  5. Rank review sites September 14, 2012 at 1:27 PM #

    I located your weblog internet internet site on google and check some of your early posts. Continue to sustain up the superb operate. I just further up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Looking for forward to studying extra from you in a while!…

  6. Arnette Owensby September 14, 2012 at 4:55 PM #

    Some really excellent info, Glad I found this.

  7. Nolan Ruopp September 14, 2012 at 4:58 PM #

    Wow, superb blog format! How long have you been running a blog for? you made blogging look easy. The total look of your website is wonderful, let alone the content material!

  8. valium online no rx September 14, 2012 at 9:21 PM #

    Hi. I honestly enjoyed reading through your current article!. Good quality material. I might suggest you to submit blogposts much more often. Using this method, with such a valuable weblog I imagine you might rank better in the search engines 🙂 . I also subscribed for your Rss. Carry on the great job!

  9. link September 15, 2012 at 2:28 PM #

    Thanks-a-mundo for the article.Really thank you! Awesome.

  10. kc 24 hour plumbing September 16, 2012 at 1:53 PM #

    Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is just great and i could assume you are an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Cinema Profound

Musings From The Red Carpet

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Lifeasabutterfly

Living life the way a butterfly would...

THE URBAN PEACE & JUSTICE MOVEMENT

'dedicated to faith, peace and justice'

Inside K Phipps Warped Exotic Mind

Insight to unknown paranormal romance writer's thoughts

the author

"we will never truly have what we want from life but it is worth a try"

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

BOOK PRICES! most at $9.99, up to $13.99 - https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

WorthCommenting

secret thoughts you don't say outloud

inspireubooks

Just another WordPress.com site

Scout66com's Blog

Commentary on the music business and things related to the arts

