The Spirit of Giving ~ We are One!

10 Nov

With the economy in such dire straits, it can be quite daunting to consider how you are going to get by on your own; let alone how you could possibly help out someone else during the holiday season ~ it is hard to imagine! 

 You’d be surprised at the various ways you can capture the true spirit of the holiday season ~ everyday ~ with just a little faith, sprinkled with a dash of creativity.

 Yes, these are tough times; indeed, however, does that mean we should have no sense of holiday spirit?  Does that mean we should not still give ~ something?  Why, of course not.

 “NO day is wasted in which I touch another person’s life in any positive, meaning...ful way. And so it is that I enrich my days by giving something of myself whether through a warm smile, a kind word, a sympathetic ear, a gentle embrace or a simple helping hand.” ~ D. Weatherford ~

 Growing up, my mother always taught me and my sisters that ‘Charity begins at home.’  Even when you are struggling, there are many ways to give back.  Start with three little things you can always GIVE, that won’t cost a thing:

~ Your Word ~

~ A Smile ~

~and ~

~Hope ~

~Your word is bond~

 It really establishes who you are as a person.  Stay true to yourself and don’t make promises you cannot keep.  In these tough times, it is important for someone to know they can count on you.

~The 2-‘BE’- RULES~

~BE a friend.  When your friend reaches out and says they need an ear, don’t say the usual, ‘If you need me, just call.’  Show up and BE a friend

~BE there.  Don’t merely say you’ll be there.  Be there in that moment and LISTEN.  You never know how much it can really mean to have a friend, just to BE there with you and for you.  Wow, how very POWERFUL!

~Oh, that BEAUTIFUL smile~

Know that your smile can brighten the day of a complete stranger and bring them Joy, Inspiration and Hope!

I can’t tell you how many countless times, no matter how I was feeling at the time; I just simply smiled at someone.  The reactions were quite remarkable.  Not only did it make me feel wonderful, many people actually reached out and embraced me as they said, ‘thanks.’

We are mere mortals and we need to connect ~ however fleeting.  There is something to be said for the feeling of “Oneness” with another person.

You never know whose life you’ll make a significant impact on with such small gestures.  It’s absolutely one of the most rewarding feelings we can have as humans!

~Some good-old fashioned advice~

As children, my beloved Grandmother, Mary, always told us to “Give flowers to those we love while they are still with us.” 

~Show the love~

So, tell your loved ones how much they mean to you.   Here are just a few suggestions:

~Reach out ~

Write a personalized holiday letter.  YOU take the initiate, get back in touch with someone; a long lost friend or family member, someone with whom you’ve lost touch ~ but really matters in your life.   Tell them how you feel, in a letter.  The written word often allows for a deeper connection because it shows the receiving party you cared enough to write it down.  Total time spent ~ an hour; letting someone know you care ~ PRICELESS.

Make that phone call, just to say, ‘Hey, thinkin of you.’  ‘How have you been?’

~Touch Someone~

~ Volunteer to visit the sick and shut in who have no family; spend an hour or two between Thanksgiving and the New Year.  What a Fantastic lesson to teach your children AND lift someone’s spirits!

~ Read to the Elderly.  Make a connection, an impact, on a stranger’s life.  The Act of Kindness fills your soul with such love!  The peace it brings about in your life is unimaginable.   Guess what?  It only costs a few hours of generosity.

~Hope~

Most of all have Hope at all times!  Be an inspiration to others.  We are all going through trying times.  You know the old adage ~ Tough Time Never Last, But Tough People Do ~ well, it is true.

We’ve all been through them before and chances are, in this lifetime, we may go through it again.  The important thing is the takeaway.  Did you learn something?

 ~Hear the Message~

The truth about the spirit of giving is that it truly begins at home (from within) and it is important to pay it forward.  Remember WARRIORS ~ we are all ONE ~ and as such, it is in our nature to give!

 Celebrating the true gift of giving is not just for one day of the year.  Spread a little cheer in someone’s life EVERYDAY.  You’d be AMAZED at how good it feels.

 ~Something to SHARE~

In the spirit of giving, here’s a little something, I’d love to share: 

~A Recipe for a GREAT day~
~One cup of laughter~
~A bowl of love~ 
~A spoonful of some Peace~
~ADD a sprinkle of Quiet
~Mix well and ENJOY your day! ♥♥

 

 

 Just My Two Cents♥♥

© 2011

14 Responses to “The Spirit of Giving ~ We are One!”

  1. best carpet steam cleaner November 24, 2011 at 7:19 PM #

    That is very fascinating, You are a very professional blogger. I have joined your feed and stay up for seeking more of your great post. Additionally, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  2. steam carpet cleaner reviews November 27, 2011 at 3:40 AM #

    Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my site so i got here to “go back the want”.I’m attempting to find issues to improve my website!I suppose its good enough to use a few of your concepts!!

  3. bissell proheat November 29, 2011 at 11:29 PM #

    I would like to thnkx for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I’m hoping the same high-grade site post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own website now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it.

  4. Fish Oil Benefits September 5, 2012 at 5:35 PM #

    Escalating a friendship to a relationship can be achieved. You are in a prime position to know what floats her boat and can use this to your advantage.

  5. Deandre Agustin September 9, 2012 at 6:58 AM #

    I simply want to tell you that I’m new to blogs and really liked this page. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You surely come with terrific articles and reviews. Thank you for revealing your web site.

  6. Brooks Loge September 13, 2012 at 5:29 PM #

    I have been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this blog. Thanks, I’ll try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your site?

    • Kimberly Johnston September 13, 2012 at 6:39 PM #

      Hi Brooks! I am glad you are back. Thanks for your comment! To answer your question, I have committed to 4 posts per week. Keep a look out ~ my first book is coming soon! BLESSINGS from me to you!! 🙂

  7. SEO FightBack September 14, 2012 at 12:54 AM #

    I discovered your weblog internet site on google and check just some of your early posts. Proceed to sustain up the superb operate. I just extra up your RSS feed to my MSN Details Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you in a while!…

  8. This Site September 15, 2012 at 12:28 PM #

    Thank you ever so for you blog post.Really thank you! Keep writing.

  9. Jeffrey Gellert September 15, 2012 at 1:15 PM #

    Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this info. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and net and this is really frustrating. A good site with exciting content, that’s what I need. Thanks for keeping this web-site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Cant find it.

  10. Noma Shackleford September 16, 2012 at 4:15 AM #

    I view something genuinely special in this internet site.

  11. car insurance September 18, 2012 at 6:35 AM #

    This blog site is extremely good. How did you make it ?

  12. Draguna September 18, 2012 at 6:38 AM #

    I would like to convey my gratitude for your generosity in support of women who actually need help on in this concept. Your personal dedication to getting the solution all-around had been exceptionally functional and has in most cases allowed employees like me to realize their pursuits. Your new insightful help entails so much a person like me and additionally to my office workers. Thank you; from everyone of us.

  13. intangible September 18, 2012 at 6:17 PM #

    fairly helpful stuff, all in all I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers

Leave a Reply

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Cinema Profound

Musings From The Red Carpet

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Lifeasabutterfly

Living life the way a butterfly would...

THE URBAN PEACE & JUSTICE MOVEMENT

'dedicated to faith, peace and justice'

Inside K Phipps Warped Exotic Mind

Insight to unknown paranormal romance writer's thoughts

the author

"we will never truly have what we want from life but it is worth a try"

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

SHARING THE POEMS SO YOU'LL BE INSPIRED TO OWN..My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

WorthCommenting

secret thoughts you don't say outloud

inspireubooks

Just another WordPress.com site

Scout66com's Blog

Commentary on the music business and things related to the arts

