Pick up the pieces

21 Mar

Once you have been deeply wounded by someone you love, it is difficult to fathom trusting again.  Your heart has been broken, battered and torn.  But, in order to heal and grow spiritually, it is essential that you let go of the past.  Let go of the pain.

Speaking from personal experience, it was not always easy for me to let go of my past because my ex-husband did things to purposefully hurt and wound me.   He would attack and I felt that I had to fight back.  It was draining and painful.  At times, the emotional trauma of my divorce was so overwhelming that it affected me physically.  I literally felt as if I would die.   I hit rock bottom.  My faith was my life preserver and once I turned my pain over to God, I regained my strength and was back on solid ground.   I learned how to stop focusing on the things he did and instead, put my energy into healing my heart.  I refused to let what happened in the past dictate the course of my future, and by doing that, I was actually able to forgive him.  While I did not and will not forget what he did, I am happy to say my wounds have healed and the bad memories put in their proper box ~ the past.

Forgiving someone who has deeply wounded you will take away any power they hold over you!  How very liberating.  Begin to pick up the pieces of your life by focusing on the lessons  you have learned from the pain you’ve endured .  Keep the past where it belongs; in the past.  Do this by Forgetting the memories that tore your heart apart.  Let it go so you can be free to move on with your life!

Letting go of the past and of the pain is a process, so take one step at a time.  While the road to self discovery can be a long and arduous journey, it is wise not to focus on your pain; rather, use it as a tool from which you can grow.  Take some  time to reflect inwardly and  find out who you really are as you change and evolve.  Discover your true self and your inner strength.  Begin again.  Recharge.  Rebuild.  Pick up the pieces and embrace the new you! 

~ REMEMBER ~

Yes you’ve been hurt, but don’t be afraid to love again.  Take a chance.  RISK.  Close your eyes and take that leap ~ it just might be worth the fall.  So get up, dust yourself off, pick up the pieces of your life and by all means, keep moving forward!

“Life is 10% of what happens to you and 90% of how you react to it.” Charles R. Swindoll

Just My Two Cents♥♥

© 2011, 2012

 

7 Responses to “Pick up the pieces”

  1. tom bayuzik March 22, 2012 at 12:18 AM #

    nice work Kimberly, “you talkin too me” he says with a Brooklyn accent….

  2. Cedric Bartlette September 9, 2012 at 8:32 PM #

    I just want to say I’m very new to weblog and absolutely liked you’re blog. Probably I’m likely to bookmark your website . You definitely have fantastic article content. Regards for sharing with us your blog.

  3. Garrett Linkon September 13, 2012 at 10:25 AM #

    I am impressed with this website, really I am a big fan.

  4. arbonne products September 14, 2012 at 8:07 AM #

    A insightful blog post there mate . Cheers for it !

  5. Nolan Ruopp September 15, 2012 at 8:48 AM #

    I simply could not depart your web site before suggesting that I actually enjoyed the usual info an individual supply for your visitors? Is going to be again ceaselessly in order to check up on new posts.

  6. buy here September 17, 2012 at 1:45 PM #

    Hey, I just hopped over to your web page via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would usually browse, but I appreciated your thoughts none the less. Thanks for making some thing well worth reading through.

  7. myla sinanaj tape November 16, 2013 at 2:10 AM #

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and
    I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Cinema Profound

Musings From The Red Carpet

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Lifeasabutterfly

Living life the way a butterfly would...

THE URBAN PEACE & JUSTICE MOVEMENT

'dedicated to faith, peace and justice'

Inside K Phipps Warped Exotic Mind

Insight to unknown paranormal romance writer's thoughts

the author

"we will never truly have what we want from life but it is worth a try"

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

BOOK PRICES! most at $9.99, up to $13.99 - https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

WorthCommenting

secret thoughts you don't say outloud

inspireubooks

Just another WordPress.com site

Scout66com's Blog

Commentary on the music business and things related to the arts

